Many people think that libraries are essential for society. Others, however, disagree and say that it is more practical to access information on computers, while libraries are a waste of money and resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People are calling into question the usefulness of current traditional libraries. While some assert that they are inseparable part of the public’s life, others dismiss them as a complete unnecessary place due to the advent of computers. Both sides of argument present rational ideas, which will be elaborated. On the one hand, supporters of conventional libraries advocate that the benefits accruing from them are by no means negligible. To begin with, they provide job opportunities and eliminating them makes a number of people jobless and as a result, poverty grows. For example, librarian or staff lose their job and cannot be able to make a living since they do not receive salary. Furthermore, paper-based books are needed regardless of the technological progress. That is to say, there are some parts of society who cannot use computers and physical books are essential to meet their needs. Take older generation as an example, it is highly likely that elderlies have not been taught to work with computers so libraries may make an important role in their gaining knowledge. On the other hand, others put forward the argument that libraries are wasting government's funding as well as putting environment in jeopardy while computers are not. The most compelling reason justifying their assertion is that, preserving books in the library is expensive. In other words, in comparison with computers, there are plenty of expenses that must be done by authorities in order to keep books in it. For instance, the maintaining cost and staff's salary need a significant funding though upkeeping computers is easier and reasonable. In addition, a lot of copies of a book is required to cover the individuals' need and plenty of natural resources like wood comes from cutting down trees, are consumed to reach this goal while it is not the case for computers which do not use any natural materials. To conclude, there are logical points on both sides; However, I am of the opinion that computer-based book is more convenient and efficient. This is mainly because they are more economic and echo-friendly.