Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are different opinions about how children can be good members of society. Some people, including me believe that children should be taught by their parents how to function as useful members of society, whereas others think school (educational institution) is the best place where they should learn them from. Given the essential role of parents, advocates argue that fathers and mothers should teach their children how to be valuable members of society. This mean, they have far-reaching implication in the development of their children ’s social skills. Children are gullible and under the sole custody of parents, so they imitate their parent’s behavior and imbibe their qualities into them in almost all aspects of their early life. Thus, if all family members demonstrate how much to being good members of society cares for them, and also take action relates to this issue, such as, not only encourages children to being useful of society, but also this could cultivate a sense of responsibility in them. For example, a study in Britain showed that children are two times more influenced by their parents than their teachers. For example, on the dining table parents should tell their kids to eat quietly and not make unnecessary noises which can develop into a good habit. Opponents, however, put forward that while being good member of society is important issues, it is task of school that should educate to children. They believe that school should take responsibility for teaching, such as honesty, resiliency, hard - working as children spent most of their time in school. They learn how to work and live with people from a wider society with various background. Dealing with others teaches them how to cooperate with each other and finally gain social competencies and experience such behavior in the entire life. For instance, after receiving lessons in civic education at school, many Vietnamese students are more willing to help their neighbors and even strangers, and they feel extremely happy after doing something good for others. For this reason, I believe that school lessons are more influential to young children. In conclusion, although parents and schools, in turns, have a responsibility to teach children to be useful members of society, I would argue that fathers and mothers have more valuable role because their behavior reflects their upbringing.