Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Governments of many countries put aside a lump sum to fund space research. Space exploration could potentially provide us with answers to many unanswered questions such as the existence of life outside of Earth and the creation of energy from sources other than fossil fuels. Although this gives opportunities for incredible findings and advancements, it is more important for the governments to ensure people of their country receive access to basic necessities such as healthcare and food. Healthcare is now becoming more difficult to access by people, even in developed countries like the UK due to overpopulation and staff shortage. The money spent on building rockets is more than enough to build plenty of new hospitals and employ new staff. Moreover, the situation is a lot worse in developing countries where people lack access to basic medical care such as vaccinations for newborn babies. It is therefore wise for politicians to allocate available funds to establish and improve healthcare rather than investing in space exploration. Families living on the support of one working parent often live on a tight budget and can barely afford basic essentials such as food, clothing and travel. Likewise, in some countries, families starve for a few days a week due to unemployment. It is therefore important that the government address poverty in their country before spending billions of dollars on something that is unlikely to give any benefit in the foreseeable future. In conclusion, even though space exploration can be the root cause of a great invention of the future, it is essential that politicians first tackle the issues surrounding basic necessities such as healthcare and starvation.