Many students choose to study at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks?

A great deal of college and university students consider studying far away from their hometown a good choice. Although choosing to study at colleges or universities in a quite different region or far away from their home may cost them more expenses, I believe that the benefits are more because that might give students opportunities to self-practice to be more perfect as well as to build new relationships which may be useful for their future. Studying in a college or university distant from home might incur additional costs for students. They must pay for rental and food, which is free if they study at university campuses near their home. For instance, most of university students in Viet Nam spend an average of 200-300 USD per month for room rental and food if they choose to study at colleges in big cities, not in their hometown. Nevertheless, attending a university in a big city that is far away from their countryside may not only give them chances to grow up through self-solving problems in their life but also to make new friends that might be useful for their future life. Living distant from their home and their parents supply students occasions to consider and make choices independently and thus, help them to develop and become more perfect after failures, studying and practice problem skills solving, attempts and success. Another benefit that students might get is that they can have more time to make new friends or build new relationships that may be beneficial in their future career. When living in a new environment, students will have chances to go to clubs or extra classes as well as join in different activities and meet new people that may give them opportunities to develop soon or later. For example, some of my mentees left their hometown to study their college degree in a big city and had some quality relationships while living there which benefited them a lot in their later business. In conclusion, despite living far from home to study at a university may have some disadvantages such as high cost for food and rental, I think the benefits outweigh the detrimental effects because the students will develop their living skills more quickly as well as have more good relationships to be successful in the future.