Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tooL Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh tne benefits?

While some people believe that video games can be both fun and educational, others think otherwise, saying that these games are likely to have a harmful impact on users. Personally, I agree with the latter school of thought for several reasons. Granted, there is some truth in the view that video games can be both entertaining and educational. Users, or gamers, are transported into virtual worlds in which they are allowed to do things that are unthinkable. In real life, for example in the form of shooting, killing or car-racing. These bring them not only a sense of novelty, but also the adrenaline rush that only a few real-life pastimes can. From an educational perspective, these games encourage imagination and creativity, as well as concentration, logical thinking and problem-solving, all of which are useful skills outside the gaming context. However, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Gaming can be highly addictive because users are constantly given scores, new targets and frequent rewards to make them feel like they are achieving something. For example, many children now spend hours each day trying to progress through the levels of a game in the blind pursuit of achievement or to get a higher score than their friends out of the sense of competition. This type of addiction can have negative effects on users, ranging from lack of sleep to problems at school or at work and obesity. In conclusion, although it is true that those who play video games can derive a certain level of excitement and can also learn something, these benefits pale in comparison with the potential dangers of video games.