Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

People ’s opinions differ as to whether studying a new language is the main purpose of individuals who want to visit or settle down in other countries or these targets are not the only aims to make someone learn foreign language. This essay attempts to shed light on both perspectives before concluding that I am in favor of the latter. On the one hand, some citizens argue that gaining an understanding of a new language just to meet the need of travel or work in foreign nations could be advantageous to a certain extent. The only reason to explain this problem is that people nowadays do not need to learn a new language by heart to communicate with foreign people, they can use technologies. There are so many apps or devices that help individuals to talk with each other in two different languages, such as Google Translate or Apple Glass, which is designed by Apple and can support citizens in communicating. With these products, it is easier for people to message or talk to everyone in the world. Moreover, according to a statistic in the United States of America, on a yearly basis there are 50 millions of people who tend to emigrate to this country in order to learn and work. So that citizens who are keen on working and studying in their nation, they can give up mastering a new language. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that people should acquire a knowledge of foreign languages. One reason is that when we learn a new language, it is not just about studying but it is also about learning foreign’s cultures. We can gain new skills while we are studying other languages, we can gain more knowledge about other’s traditions. This is a very suitable occasion that helps us to know more about the world. For example, some tour guides when they lead a group of visitors, they can show to these people the difference between their cultures and visitors’ cultures, from that it can create an attraction and ease of understanding for travelers. Another reason is that it is much faster when we communicate with foreigners in a natural way. Instead of using Google Translate and waiting for its response, we can talk to other nations’ people if we have enough vocabulary about their language. So it is much easier for business people who want to sell something to others. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that learning a foreign language is only in order to work and study in other countries, I would contend that this argument is not true.