Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a debate about whether teachers should make the students know their own literature or include other nation's literary content in the syllabus. While some people argue that reading books with a foreign vocabulary is important, I believe that teaching the native educational resource is far more important to preserve cultural values and language. There are many benefits of imparting knowledge related to local history. Firstly, it helps understand the traditional customs of the community.If we know our historical background well, we will be able to take pride in our achievements and learn from past mistakes for a better future. This is because the folklore of any community reflects the culture and the societal norms of that region. For example, the study of the creation of Pakistan and the sacrifices given by the Muslims of the Subcontinent inculcates patriotism and the encouragement to fight for the motherland. Moreover, reading in a local dialect helps us in preserving the national identity. This means that more the people understand their mother tongue, the more they will be able to propagate it worldwide.To illustrate, the presidents of different nations speak in their national accents at international forums like The United Nations in order to promote the state's culture and traditions. On the contrary, if we read in a foreign vocabulary,there are chances of our youth adopting the social norms of other countries.Many young people in our country who study in English medium schools consider going to pubs a normal phenomenon whereas it is against our religious teachings and cultural norms. In conclusion,even though, learning a foreign language has some merits, teaching the literature of own country is necessary in order to propagate national historical values and to prevent the local language from becoming extinct.