Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that there are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some adopt the view that the mere reason for studying a foreign language is to cater for traveling or working for an international company, while others believe that people also conquer a language for other reasons. I will discuss some possible reasons from my perspective before my point of view is drawn at the end. Firstly, language is very pivotal for citizens to visit other countries or work. Having said that, linguistics helps individuals communicate with the locals when they have a trip to any nation in the world. If they don' t know how to speak any languages which are global, they find it challenging to figure out the customs and history of the nation they visit. Moreover, they cannot strike up conversations with the foreigners to show their demands, eventually derailing their trips. In terms of working, without foreign speech competence, they cannot understand and express their ideas with their coworkers or their bosses. For example, English is a universal verbalization nowadays, which helps people around the world come closer. If people don' t study English, they cannot meet all the requirements at their workplace. As a result, they are probably hindered from advancing or getting better professions. Secondly, it is said that the international language broadens humans' mind to some extent. It is true that when we are skilled at any language, such as English, we can read the books that were originally written in English, accelerating deeper insights. Furthermore, English offers human beings a great opportunity to be global citizens who study and inhabit abroad. If it weren' t for English, we could not pursue the modern education overseas, for instance, in America, England. Last but not least, absorbing a language boosts people's health. A study proves that studying language helps individuals to memorize more than others who don' t immerse themselves in any words. In conclusion, travelling and working are not the only causes for people to learn a language. In my opinion, citizens also learn language to gain more perspectives and improve their brains.