Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinionp.

Some adopt the view that travelling and working are the only purposes for people to learn a second language, while others think that there are also several different targets. I will discuss some possible reasons for this essay from my perspective before my view is drawn at the end. To begin with, there is a held view among people that a language would help them have a good trip and work better overseas, so they try to absorb language. In fact, mastering a language would allow travelers to approach the culture and history of the country they visit. Thanks to their language, it is supposed to be easy for them to strike up conversations with the locals. Also, studying a language would boost their jobs to some extent. Having said that, people are more inclined to be skilled at languages such as English to get the higher jobs with the salary they wish. Without English, the employees find it challenging to communicate with their coworkers and their bosses, which impacts negatively on their career path. Therefore, they learn how to use English. However, there are other targets behind this issue. It is said that some individuals, for instance, the eldest, take up English classes just for fun so as to enjoy the rest of their life. Meanwhile, some women learn English to have chitchat with their spouses who come from other countries. Besides, some Moms desire to learn a second language to likely accompany their kids. In conclusion, there are many reasons for human beings to study an international language, yet I strongly believe that travelling and employment are the main purpose for this.