In some cities public parks and open space are being changes into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegetables. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed that natural public amenities are rebuilt into gardens due to the expectation of local inhabitants to grow beneficial vegetation. This essay will show the inconvenience of lacking entertainment areas outweighs the benefits of farmland. To begin, it must be understood that the majority of people often do leisure activities and refill their energy in community parks. This is because the proper construction of trees, wooden benches and pebble paths will distress people's minds via watching the tranquil sceneries around them. As a result, people may not find other places for the purposes of entertainment and become more stressed without any public parks. For instance, Central Park, located in New York City is an attractive destination with both tourists and citizens due to its peaceful atmosphere and healing environment. Therefore, lacking entertainment areas results in the rate of stressful inhabitants. It must also be considered that transforming public spaces into gardens is a considerable way. People can grow all kinds of vegetation and independently harvest it. This may be true, but planting fruit or vegetables requires fertilizers which may be released toxic chemical substances into the environment. Furthermore, insects will often come to gardens and there is an increase in the number of insects throughout the community. Global governments encourage humans not to reverse public spaces to farmland. Thus, avoiding building gardens in public is a significant point to be considered. To conclude, the lack of spacious spaces brings harmful effects on people, and outweighs the significant nutritional vegetables grown in gardens. Hence, local citizens should visit public parks frequently in order to create more relaxing time and potential relationships.