Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reason for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Few individuals prefer spending their lifetime nearby their birthplace. This essay delves into the reasons accountable for this situation and discusses the benefits and drawback for the same. To begin, the primary cause behind this circumstance is that these people are closely attached to their family. They find it difficult to separate from their loved ones and want to cherish their time with ones close to them. For example, a family-oriented person would feel depressed and lonely when he is far away from his close ones during family celebrations. In addition, these individuals get a sense of stability and security when they are close to their born place. For instance, it is the family and close friends who take care of an individual in case he is suffering from a medical ailment. On the one hand, the main benefit about living close to their birthplace is that one can take better care of their loved ones. If an emergency situation arises, one can act promptly without wasting important time. For example, during covid pandemic, those far away from their family could not travel back, and hence, could not take care of their near and dear ones. Moreover, living close to one ’s native location gives a sense of financial stability. Individuals do not need to worry about extra expenses like rent or transportation cost. On the other hand, this circumstance has also a few drawbacks. The most common demerit would be the lack of professional opportunities. Living in cities with good job prospects, could be a stepping stone in one ’s professional career. For example, a survey conducted by a renowned organisation, revealed that those who travelled to mega cities had a fulfilling career compared to their counterparts. Furthermore, residing near one ’s hometown may deprive the individual of many amazing experiences. Travelling to a new land, out of their comfort zone, helps one experience various life lessons. In conclusion, there are various causes for an individual to not leave their native land. And this circumstance has various merits and demerits.