People live longer today and so people should stay in the workforce longer. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today is known as the era of an aging society. From this aspect, questions about whether individuals live longer today and so they should stay in the workforce longer arise. In my opinion, they should stay in the workforce longer. Irrefutably, the young are more likely to struggle with a financial burden. This is because, unlike the past, the young who live with retired old family members mamage household finances and pay more taxes associated with the pension system. This obviously leads young individuals to experience the difficulties of finances and saving money and this in turn results in a poor quality of life. What is more, although the stress from the work cannot be overlooked, an increase in mental and physical health occurs. In actual fact, labour studies undertaken by experts have revealed that older workers who stay in workforce are less likely to have stress from social problems like loneliness and have opportunities to improve their physical condition through regular commuting and active work. Nevertheless, the freedom of individuals from labour force is significant. In other words, since retirees have worked in their entire life before retirement, they deserve the chance to pursue their dreams and activities what they love, so retirement would provide the opportunity for a better quality of life. To recapitulate, the freedom of individuals from labour force is significant, but the young are more likely to struggle with a financial burden and an increase in mental and physical health occurs. Thus, individuals should stay in the workforce longer.