Some people think that it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport system such as railways and trams. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There is a belief that money should be allocated to improve motorways and roads rather than public system for transport like trains and buses. I completely disagree with this opinion, because it encourages more cars on the road, which increase traffic congestion. Though, is it true that, the more money poured into roads the safer it is to participate in traffic. Wider boulevards, more lanes, no cul-de-sac and more are definitely make it better to travel around. However, the drawbacks of this investment is considerable as the roads are improve more and more people will choose to use private transport, such as cars, motorbikes and etc. can increase the traffic congestion and air pollution. Consequently, the existed problems will evolve to something worse than before. It can be easily see that, the better the public transport the less traffic jam and air pollution. For example, Japan and their popular superb system for public transportation, bullet trains, are the prove that a good network of this can be a big advantage for the country, as they cost less energy and resource than the private vehicle. Moreover, publicly use traffic system can also contribute to the local economy, as they can create more employment. As a result, the nation can have a lot of benefits by allocate the money to those communal transport systems, unlike the outlay for roads. In conclusion, invest cash in improve the motorways and roads is not important than the expenditure for mass transit networks, because they can add more burden to the previous dilemmas, like traffic congestion and pollution of the air. Thus, is it more beneficial to spend money on systems for public transport like trains and trams.