An increasing number of larger shopping areas, malls and department stores are leading to the decline of smaller corner shops. what are the advantages and disadvantages of shopping in larger shopping centers rather than smaller, more traditional shops?

In the present world, In the big cities, many enormous shopping malls have been constructed. The rise of those shopping areas like malls and department stores means the dying of the smaller local shops especially in the capital cities. Discussing the positives and negatives of shopping in larger malls rather than the smaller corner shops will be described in the following paragraphs. To begin with, many people choose to buy certain things like accessories, amenities and electrical gadgets in the shopping center more than the traditional shop because shopping in the plaza brings many advantages such as buying various goods in one place and lower prices compared with the local shops. To illustrate, in the past, people went shopping the weekly groceries at the street market and if they wanted to get a lipstick, they needed to go to another local shop. Whereas, nowadays people can buy groceries and and a lipstick in the same building which is very convenient for them. Moreover, paying with mobile banking or credit card is mostly not acceptable for traditional shops because the owner needs to register the payment systems and pay more taxes. Moving on to the disadvantages, firstly, shopping in the larger department stores may lead to wiping out of the corner shops or the smaller shops from cutting down the goods price. Following this, the lower price is good for customers, but harmful to the competitors who will lose their regular customers. Furthermore, if people continue to choose to buy things from the big malls instead of traditional stores, the lack of support for local shops that sell specific or special goods will be gone. In conclusion, the large department stores and shopping malls' numbers are on the rise, leading to the decreasing number of the smaller traditional stores in the cities. Even shopping in the larger shopping center brings convenience to customers, it can cause negative influences on local shops and end up losing traditional local goods.