Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport system such as railways and tram. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that roads and motorways should be prioritized to invest money in rather than transport systems for the community, like railways or tram. This essay aims to explain the writer’s opposition to the mentioned view and emphasize that public delivery networks are worth investing. The advocates of spending money on roads and motorways might argue that this satisfies the rising demand of individual vehicles of the workforce. Because of the growing population and the decline in the price of cars and motorbikes, those modes of transport require more roads to commute smoothly. However, the land is limited while there are more and more people need to travel, leading to the congestion in many cities despite recently-constructed highways for both cars and motorbikes. Notwithstanding, the compensation and other fees to establish new roads might be so extravagant that refilling the invested money takes a long time to complete. On the contrary, benefits of giving financial support to developed public transport infrastructures can be more significant. Firstly, the capability of goods and commuters on each journey is bigger, especially with trains and tram, leading to the increase in profit of logistic companies. Secondly, public network of vehicles can reduce not only the traffic congestion but also pollution as those means use specific roads so there are no delay and wasted fuel. Finally, although some people argues that they cannot reach the final destination via railways, like a specific museum in a city, investing in hiring bicycle systems such á the on in Amsterdam could address this problem. In conclusion, money should be spent on public transport facilities instead of motorways and roads. The saving of extra fees or the reduction of wasted fuels and exhausted gases are some advantages of this wise approach.