Art classes, such as painting and drawing, are as important to a child’s development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that art classes, compared to other subjects, are equally pivotal to a child’s growth. This writer contends that arts should be in high schools’ curriculum, since it enhances the child’s creativity, while there are opposing views due to art classes being irrelevant to academic study. It must be acknowledged that classes including drawing and painting nurture children’s creativity. This is because, when young students are asked to produce an artwork, this involves the student’s imagination in order to create one in the way that is feasible to them. Simultaneously, the activity also boosts the child’s creativity. For example, when a child is required to create a drawing of the sky, he or she will have to think creatively to draw. However, there is a common opinion held by individuals that art classes do not support children’s academic career. This is due to prior experiences of people that most artistic masterpieces only contain imagination, unbounded by any logical rules, such as The Scream of Edward Munch. This point is credible, but this is not always true in most circumstances. To explain this, there are still drawings that obey the logical rules, such as landscapes. Another example for this is when students draw the human body, they will understand the ratio of the body, which can prove useful in human anatomy, an academic subject. In conclusion, the writer approves of the idea of art being compulsory in the curriculum of high schools, as it boosts creativity in children and academic knowledge of high school students.