Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

Throughout the history, the portion of state’s budget has invested in arts sector all over the world. However, the allocation of budgets into arts or public services is a matter of debate. Some experts mention that there is need to invest more in the cultural sites in cities, while others believe it is wasting money and anticipate public facilities are more crucial instead of music or theatre. I am actually in favour of the prior argument for two main reasons. As a matter of fact, the arts generally enhance human beings’ mental health and communities’ cultural enrichment thoroughly. For instance, scientist depict that listening to a particular music genre such as classical ones, would boost the concentration and mounting the focusing especially in a studying process. Furthermore, when spectators watching a comedy theatre, it will reduce mental issues such as depressions and anxieties. Secondly, investing in the arts would flourish a local economy consequently. For example, Paris municipality and other related departments have held annual gallery or music exhibitions to illustrating masterpiece artworks. For this reason, many tourists around the worlds have mounted to visit these shows, also by expending huge amounts of money. Particularly Paris retailers and local shops could benefit from these revenues. On the other hand, the massive cost of holding an exhibition or constructing a cinema is an issue, which some experts mention. For examples, in low economic countries the costs of the cultural events is devastating, however, usage of a surplus budget in economical sustainable states should be recommended. To conclude, the cost of the arts is not expenditures, although it is investment actually to flourish culture and economy of a city. In my opinion, governments should invest a surplus budget into the arts, which provide opportunities to make profits for all walks of people.