In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantage and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Before continuing studies in the college, some countries suggest young generation to work or travel for a year. It can affect several benefits for young people such as having a lot of experiences and financial independents, but it can not be denied that it also can lead negative effects such as insecurities and stuck with the comfort zone in work life. Both views will be elaborated below. To commence with, teenagers who choose to have a career or travel before joining the educational institution will have more experiences. As an example, the individuals who desire to pursue bachelor’s degree in social studies and take a part in charity foundations will know more about the latest social problems. This activity will make it easier to write down the thesis in the last semester. Another advantage is the teenagers can also be financially freedom because they can get paid or sallary before going to campus. The teens do not need to ask their parents to pay their needs such as book and laptop because they can utilize their money to buy all their necessaries. On the contrary, the people who work first before chasing the study usually have an insecurity since they have seen their friends getting ahead. Besides, they tend to have same phase with other friends. As a matter of fact, in psychology field, there is a term “Fear of Missing Out or FOMO” to illustrate the condition of young generation in the recent era. In addition, another drawback is sometimes the teenagers stuck with the comfort zone in the work life as well as forget their dreams or goals. For instance, the person intends working to pay for campus administration fees but finally until 2-5 years the individual still being an employeer employee. To sum up, working before joining a college have positive and negative impacts. For the positive one, the people can have experiences and financial independent while negative sides are insecurities and stuck in comfort zones. In the end, the writer suggests that it will be better for the individuals to give serious thoughts for our decisions.