As is often said that “Prevention is better than cure,” For this reason, governments should spend national health budget more on the prevention of diseases than on treatment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is pointed out that preventing disease is by far the most important factor than cure, thereby some people argue that governments should spend tax more on the prevention of ailments than on cure. Both prevention and cure are important, however I think governmental authorities should utilize national budgets for treatments. Firstly, some sophisticated treatments are developed in these decades. For instance, vaccine made us not to care about viral diseases like smallpox, which was one of fatal diseases in history and killed millions of people in the past. Secondary, people do not have to care about ailments if there were some effective treatments. Although it takes long time to develop these treatments, development of these methods for care may be facilitated by subsidization from governments. Finally, patients are obliged to rely on doctors so that they can survive. To prepare for such case, it is beneficial for medical stuffs and patients to have effective solutions for disease. Of course, prevention like taking checkup regularly is also essential to find disease. Additionally, patients could likely to take some effective countermeasures before deteriorating the ailment and the cost for treatment can be reduced. Furthermore, it is pointed out that people tend to do sedentary work and they do not exercise regularly in their daily life, thereby the importance of exercise may be increasing these days. However, these prevention can not be effective for all diseases. In conclusion, both treatment and prevention are essential to avoid disease, however seeing in the long run, treatments should be subsidized from government so that people can survive from disease.