In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Criminal books and TV series are being liked in an increasing number by people globally. This essay delves into the reasons behind this growing trend and also states why in my opinion they should be banned. To begin, humans are curious by nature and they love solving mysteries. Also, they feel a sense of satisfaction, when they come to know that their conclusion was correct. This is what the crime books and TV shows provide their audience, a captivating story filled with suspense which people like to watch and solve. For example, Peaky Blinder, a show on Netflix, which had a mysterious criminal story, was the most watched series on the platform. Moreover, criminal titles and programs gives one a perspective of what is happening in the society and how to avoid such unfortunate situations. Viewers get an insight of a criminal’s mindset and keeps them aware when they encounter a similar condition. However, I believe these crime series and novels should be banned because they have a negative effect on a person’s thought process. They instil the criminal’s malicious behaviour in people’s mind, due to which people may commit crime. For instance, a recent Sunday Times newspaper article showed how a teenager learnt various criminal tactics from a Netflix series and harmed his girlfriend. Furthermore, watching and reading titles based on offensive acts make an individual depressed and anxious. The person may think that the society has become unsafe to live but this is may not be the case. In conclusion, although the crime books and TV programs are quite captivating and provide a thrilling experience to their audience, however due to the aforementioned arguments they should be banned.