Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. Agree or disagree.

Whether it is essential to use money for motorways and roads or public transport systems, like trams and railways, is a conventional problem. Although many people support the former statement, this writer disagree with it due to financial burden and environmental impacts. It is vital to understand that manking mankind roads needs lots of money and materials. This is because it takes a large amount of tume and work, which means that it brings no instant benefits for citizens. Moreover, material that is used is expensive, in other words, it can put governments in risks of financial burden. As a consequence, this situation many cause officials end up with critics of residents and heavy punishment. Take Vietnam as an example, where there are many authorities' employees being fined because of spending too much cash on streets' facilities but having no use. Therefore, using money for roads might make society deal with economic burden. However, some supporters argue that the more motorways are built, the less congestion happens. This means that citizens then have more space to ride and drive, there is no worry about traffic flow. Though this opinion has its own right, more roads might support individuals to own their personal vehicles. Various inhabitants think that this phenomenon is harmless, but, in contrast, it worsens the environmental issues due to releasing more emissions and exhaust, which contribute to air pollution that has negative impacts on human health. In addition, workers need to exploit more natural resources and worsen pollution in areas so as to complete the construction. Hence, building roads is able to lead to more environmental matters. Taking all into consideration, spending money on roads is not cost-effective and worsens pollution. Thus, governments should have strategies to raise citizens' awareness and encourage using public transport.