Write about the following topic: In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times countries have grown at a rapid rate with public transport and inter city travel a key component for their growth. While some argue the importance for public transport within the cities, others argue the need for fast railway line between locations. In believe spending money on both is essential for the betterment of the city and country as a whole. In the essay I will be discussing both views and give my conclusion. On one hand, the need for public transport has never been more pronounced in today's metropolitans. Those in favour of public transport often argue the importance of convenience and sustainability that is provided by buses, subways, rental bikes etc. For instance, getting to and from work has been made much easier with the use of the underground railway, traffic has been reduced majorly, and the cost for people's time and money has been cut greatly. In my experience, over the past three years of living in Beijing the use of the local transit has completely changed the way I travel. Arguably, I have saved more time and money than I could ever imagine than I would otherwise if I spent that on buying a car and getting stuck in traffic. Hence, spending more on building better local transit has more meaning for some. On the other hand, the people arguing to increase spending on travel between major cities often highlight the mass migration between mega cities. For instance, China with one of the world's largest populations has what is called the largest mass migration of people every year in their holiday season. Consequently, this has forced the governments to allocate large funds to the making of new and better fast train railways between their capitols. Therefore, it can be argued that allocating more resources to the fast railways is of more importance. In my opinion, striking a balance between both is essential for the ease if the general public. Clearly, focusing more on one is not the solution and it will only hinder the progress of the country as a whole. It is recommended that spending be balanced and equal priority be given to each project.