Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen, pencil or brush. What are the reasons for this? Is the decline in writing by hand a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, there are fewer people writing by hand. This writer argues that there are important reasons that related to the improvement of technology, and in my viewpoint these have been largely negative trend as it prevents the development of children when they just started to know writing. It cannot be denied that the evolution of technology in recent years has helped people in many ways. One of the benefits of mechanization is upgraded writing abilities of human. With new features and its mechanism that easy to understand, people can apprehend it well and make their work become more convenient. They will be more flexible in using fingers to typing and import information faster than using paper to write it down. Moreover, people can save their process for another days to do more extra works and also prevent losing their work by accident. For example, people who work as accountants nowadays are feeling more comfortable when they deal with complex data than before as they use paper and handwriting to note the data and sometimes mistakes are inevitable. However, there is another argument that should be considered is that typing on a computer can affect children's improvement. In other words, if they expose themselves to computers too early, they will not know how to write and understand basic letters, as it just shows them the symbols but cannot explain it and will make they feel hard for them to study alphabetical characters. Consequently, they will become illiterate and seems that they will take along time to regain their ability. Moreover, people will lose their traditional skill and practices when they rely too much on computer typing. To sum up, there are more negative influence than positive in the long run, as the benefits are too tiny with the drawbacks. However, we should consider about typewriting as its potential affect to humans nowadays.