In recent years, “responsible tourists” have paid attention to preserving both culture and environment of the places they visit. However, some people say that it is impossible to be a “responsible tourist”. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These past few years, people are arguing on lack of possibility someone can become a " reponsible tourist " or having attention to take care of the culture and sorroundings of the places he/ se visited. People may think that way due to raising number of international visitors who may not familiar with the local culture. I believe educating visitors is hard, but using a little twist in both written and unwritten rules can show that having respect for places is possible. Several news about foreign tourist disrespecting a tourist attraction was being a talk of the town in several country these recent years, after covid-19 cases lowered down. One example in a temple in Bali, Indonesia, where a foreigner was seen eating "Sesajen" -- a collection of food placed on a knitted-bamboo tray as a praying rituals. She was then confronted by local religious leader. It was reported that she did not know about the rituals, and thought it was just free food. Another example coming from Japan, which Government decided to build high net along the road near Mountain Fuji, where foreigner oftenly stopped to take a picture there. The crowd was reportedly disturb the neigborhood and many people was seen crossing the road in a manner that may harm themselves, where Japanese always pay attention to safety first. These two examples showed that most people doing disrespectful things around some places is because they were not knowledgable about the local cultures, although some written rules may seen. In my hometown Bandung, similar things happened in one tourist attraction named Goa Jepang. Running around the area is restricted because it will be dangerous since the place is pit dark, but visitors keep on doing that until the management give it a twist. They created urban story, which will be told by the guides, that the area is haunted by japanese soldiers and people can hear the footsteps from time to time. This surprisingly make people walk almost tip toeing, because they are both afraid and wanted to hear the ghosts' footsteps. Similar approach also conducted in Singapore, where a Harry Potter exhibition was held in Santosa Island. To prevent people bringing food to certain area, they provided a small area with garbage bins and put a big sign, conveying that the further part will have "dangerous" magical creatures that can sense food. Afraid something might happen, people willingly follow the witter rules. In conclusion, people will follow the instruction of they are interested in doing so. Creative ways can help solving the problem and encourage people to be "responsible tourist ".