Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and poluttion problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures fdo you think might be effective?

Fuel prices being referred to as an ideal way to overcome the current traffic and pollution issues is a statement that I disagree with. I find that there are measures more optimal to address the same issues. Below, I will highlight some methods along with addressing the issue with the statement. A rise in the prices of fuel would not drive the usage of cars lower. There is a driving force behind the choice of one's transportation means. If an individual chooses to purchase and drive a car, then understanding the reasoning behind it is the key to finding solutions for the traffic increase. For instance, Qatari residents are not able to walk or ride a bike in the Middle Eastern climate, which results in cars being the optimal choice of transport. To lessen the traffic and pollution, the country has created a public transportation system that adheres to society's needs such as air-conditioned bus and metro stations. In addition, there are different methods to decrease both traffic and petrol's effect on the environment. Relying on solar power or renewable energy to fuel the cars is an option that will lead to more sustainable means of public transit. Moreover, reshaping how vehicles are made or how people go from point A to point B would reshape traffic and roads. For example, carpooling and school buses lead to fewer cars on the road. These types of methods would make the same impact as increasing the price of petrol. In conclusion, understanding the reason behind people's transportation choices and needs is the key to lessening the environmental problems caused by it.