“Prison is the only truly effective form of punishment, because it separates criminals from society.” To what extent do you support this view? You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people contend that imprisonment is the best and only way to effectively punish and separate criminals from the population. However, I disagree with this argument and will explain why in this essay. Some law violations are extremely serious, namely murder, genocide, and rape. These types of crimes require a harsh sentence, and imprisonment may be the only choice to inhibit dangerous criminals. However, not all crimes are equally severe, so punishments should be granted according to the severity of the act. In emerging countries such as Brazil, for example, some individuals commit thefts, such as stealing food or mobile phones, out of desperation to eat and pay their bills. They need better opportunities in education and employment rather than imprisonment. Furthermore, going to jail may be detrimental as they can end up becoming associated with criminal gangs. While offenders need to pay for their wrong choices, they also deserve a second chance to be reintroduced into society. It is also relevant to highlight that maintaining a prisoner in jail is highly expensive. Thus, I believe that only grave criminals should be confined. In my opinion, other offenders should go to rehabilitation centers where they can learn, work, and contribute to the community while paying for their crimes. This could be a more cost-effective program for governments. In Australia, for instance, people who commit minor crimes receive psychological support and professional training while in custody. This way, they can be reintroduced to society under bail conditions and work for the system rather than only spending government funds. In conclusion, although some criminals commit severe crimes and there is no other choice apart from keeping them under custody, I believe that prisons are not always the best way to punish offenders. This is because these establishments are expensive to maintain, and not every crime act is severe. Therefore, people deserve different types of penalties and a chance for rehabilitation, where they can contribute to the community.