Some people argue that the government should give every unemployed person a mobile phone and should make sure they have access to the Internet. They believe this is the best way of using public money to reduce the problem of unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that governments should give jobless people phones and Internet access to alleviate the unemployment problem. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this idea as it is certainly not the best way of using public money to solve the problem, and the following paragraphs will elaborate more on that. To begin with, the idea of just giving unemployed people technology in order to solve their problems seems a little wishful. To illustrate, the fact that most people have phones and internet access nowadays suggests that this is not what prevents them from finding work. It would be much better if the money is spent on job fairs, counselling, benefits, or even investment in local businesses to spur the hiring process. Indeed, whilst none of these is a perfect solution, they all seem rather more realistic and preferential than buying thousands of phones and Internet contracts. Another argument to add is that mobile phones do not provide the vast majority of people with any income. In other words, any suggested solution should take in consideration that unemployed people need money to pay for their expenses, and this cannot be usually gained by just having a mobile phone and an Internet access. Actually, some young people could use these services to waste more time playing video games or even involved in some illegal activities. In conclusion, due to the fact that the suggestion of providing unemployed people with mobile phones and Internet access to tackle their challenges is an impractical measure, I would assure that I strongly disagree with it.