Walking is known to be beneficial for health but these days the number of people walking has reduced a lot. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to tackle this situation?

One of the useful activities for body health is walking but nowadays the number of people tending to walk has fallen strikingly. There seem to be two main causes for this issue and some relevant solutions can be considered to address it fully. It is generally acknowledged that with continuous technological development, individuals can do a diverse range of tasks remotely at their homes, such as shopping, paying bills or even working. There is no longer a need to go out for routine activities. Additionally, compared to previous decades more people have access to private vehicles which leads to fewer citizens walking to their destinations. These reasons pose to trait of a lazy generation for future years. As an illustration, we witness a huge number of overweight individuals due to a lack of physical activities like walking. To persuade people to do the cheapest and most available sport, walking, there should be some encouraging plans by the authorities. The public needs to be informed about the benefits of walking by advertising shown on TV or the environment. Moreover, some attractions like green areas or walking paths must be provided for individuals in order to make their strolling more enjoyable. The more encouraging areas prepare for walking, the more the population will take part in the activity. For instance, we have a strolling path in our neighbourhood called the "Healthy Route" with pleasant views of colourful flowers which attracts almost whole neighbours to walk daily. To conclude, considering that modern technologies and private cars pose less movement for daily tasks, some advertisements and encouraging plans could reintroduce walking routines to people whose tendency has been changed to spend their quality time at their homes doing nothing but using technology rather than walking.