In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant exampes from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a new trend among companies to distinguish their goods by pointing out it’s uniqueness in the commercials. They do it to establish their brand identity, though it can be confusing for the consumers sometimes. However, i firmly believe that this is benifitial for the buyers. There are various reasons that compel a corporation to do this practice. Primarily, the market is very competetive and this can give them an edge. People love to use newer and better stuffs, by saying their product is new, businesses try to act on that urge. For instance, Microsoft anounced that Windows 10 would be the last version of their operating system and they will only provide updates to it in future. Yet, when they experienced it’s market share drop, they launced Windows 11. This benifit benefits of this culture goes to mainly the users. As these companies try their best to be to true to their words, they spend a lot of money in research and development to be competetive. As a result, people get a lot of uptions, as well as better better products when they go shopping. The chips market is the perfect example of that. Brands try to find unique taste to serve the palate of the customers, this led to the productions of hundrades of flavours. Conversely, this can create misunderstanding among buyers. We typically compare goods from different businesses before doing a purchase decision. Different type of naming and branding of similar product makes it difficult. For example, Intel and AMD used to name their processors in a way that customers could could compare them properly before buying. However, now both companies changed their naming, which has made comparision tougher. To conclude, this exercise of emphasising that their product has something new by corporations can make buying decision difficult. But this was, companies can differentiate their products, which make the customers the ultimate benefitiary.