There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Research has shown that academic success is the centre of the young world. Thus, students are forced to focus on subjects which are part of their future studies, like physics and maths, if they want to have a perfect future career. Nevertheless, besides these subjects, there are also others, non-academic, that consist a part of their school schedule. Many people believe that schools must remove those lessons because in this way children will concentrate more easily in their academic future. Obviously, I am opposed to that idea for a lot of reasons. To start with, there are those who support that removing subjects, like physical education, from schools will be beneficial for students. For instance, if this occurs, children will have more time to occupy with academic subjects. Of course, we cannot dispute this because it is a logical thought but we can have a lot of doubts about the results of this. Finally, will it be helpful or harmful for children? On the other hand, lots of humans are of the opinion that a school schedule should involve different types of education. Those believe that students will be more efficient in their academic subjects if they have time to do subjects with different themes. For example, a stop from reading maths for learning cookery will help students to relax and to get ready for further studying. This is a good reason for rejecting the initiative of removing non-academic subjects from school. To conclude, in my opinion, it would be good for children to have some lessons of different subjects from them which are their goal. Except the fact that those will be helpful for them as general knowledge, they also will keep them relaxed and calm. We must think twice before setting an idea like that at schools.