Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the curiosity about the reason behind learning a foreign language has become a heated topic among people in the language's academic field. Some people believe that the main reason that people learn a foreign language is to work and travel, while others argue that cultural appreciation is also an important factor. In this essay, I will examine both perspectives and provide my opinion on this controversy. Learning a foreign language offers various benefits, especially travel and work, which are the primary reasons. Some individuals learn basic phrases or conversation to travel in countries where English is not spoken. Japan, for example, is the country where people speak Japanese solely. Some restaurants in Japan have available menus in their own language only. Therefore, tourists have to learn some conversation or simple vocabularies before visiting Japan to communicate with locals and help their trip much more easily. Another significant advantage is to increase working opportunities. Workers who are proficient in a foreign language might have a better opportunity to work in international companies or in rich countries to earn a high livelihood. Furthermore, some employees might receive higher salary or bonus due to the English proficiency score and have opportunities to be promoted in higher positions. For example, my company pays extra money for employees who get a TOEIC score higher than 800. Therefore, learning a foreign language not only helps communicate with locals while traveling but also improves overall living standards and creates more job opportunities. On the other hand, some people might argue that some individuals practice a foreign language because they want to appreciate culture. For example, my friend started to learn Korean because she loves to watch Korean dramas and TV series. Consequently, she has learned Korean as a hobby and did not use Korean for working or traveling. Additionally, some people relocate to the new country that do not speak their mother tongue so that people have to learn a foreign language to blend with society. For example, some migrants speaking Arabic have to move to European countries, speaking different languages and dialects. Therefore, people have to learn a foreign language regardless of their needs. In conclusion, there is an array of needs to learn a foreign language depending on their circumstances. However, I firmly agree with the statement that traveling and working are the primary reasons for people to learn a foreign language because it can improve individuals’ overall quality of life by creating a chance to work in higher positions or earn more money.