Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Snacks and drinks available in supermarket contains high concentration of sugar. Consumption of these foods can cuase serious health issues like type 2 diabetes. I firmly agree to the fact that, these products should be sold in high price in order to discourage general public to avoid it. I developed country, obesecity has became a health crises. Consuming high level of sugar is the primary reason for that. Medical condition such as type 2 diabetes is more prevalent than before. For example, in a NHS study, it is said that around 20% of the diabetic patients are suffering from type 2 diabetes, which is record high. In addition to that, people who consumes sugar in frequent interval has high dental caries index. They suffer from dental pain and discomfort more often, as a result, they avoid eating certain foods. It opens up the door of many other health condition such as malnutrition. For instance, according to American Endodontic Society, people who has all tooth present are generally more healthy. There are other effects of consuming carbohydrate rich foods. Many visits to hospitals and dentists are costly, adding up to huge medical bill. Not everyone can afford this, resulting in living a compromised unhealthy life. This affect our mental health, leading to many psycological disorders such as depression. In conclusion, companies tend to put a high level of sugar in their food and drinks. This brings about a plethora of medical conditions as stated above. I think, the way to avoid this phenomena by increasing the price of these products. This way we can contain this pandemic.