In recent years, there has been a rise in the use of performance-enhancing drugs in sports. What are the consequences of doping for athletes? What measures should be taken to combat this issue?

With an ever-increasing concern about competitions within international sports games, how to handle the increasing usage of performance-enhancing drugs has been a critical issue in society. This essay, therefore, will convey some consequences of doping and potential solutions to be implemented. To begin with, one of the primary reasons for the increased usage of performance-enhancing drugs is the benefits from becoming well-known athletes are tremendously huge. Worldwide national sports games have a high number of prizes for winners, and big companies offer commercial contracts with prohibited prices to buy their images of sportsmanship. The expectation of society towards athletes emphasizes fairness, working hard to achieve goals and usage of drugs can vanish what they have earned. Given that more and more people have turned to using drugs it affects the original aim of sports. Athletes should compete with self-achievement to protect their confidence and dignity while they become a role model to younger generations. Furthermore, the most fundamental consequences of the usage of performance-enhancing drugs are health-related issues caused by overdosing on the drugs. Given that the lack of medical provisions with using drugs carries other side effects that can be crucial to athletes ’ well-being. In spite of the reasons mentioned above, there are potential measures that can be taken to alleviate this issue. Firstly, if the International Sports Federation increases the fine for doping and announces that doping is a crime, the athletes and the interested parties will have economically a higher burden and it will eventually discourage them from using drugs. Moreover, allocating the increased budget from collected fines will now be used to provide a proper education from education institutions such as annual workshops to emphasize the importance of sportsmanship for athletes. In conclusion, it seems that the usage of performance-enhancing drugs has increased in sports games. Nevertheless, I believe that each government can handle this issue by implementing effective measures to encourage individuals to be involved in the solving process of this issue.