In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers.Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a lot of hype regarding autonomous driving. It is estimted that by 2050, most of the vehicles will be driverless. However, this target does'nt does not seem to be acheivable due to various factors. Even though driverless vehicles may be benificial for transportation companies but I think there are certain risks associated with it which needs to be adressed. Firstly, autonomous vehicles can help reduce operational expense of logistics companies. Organizations may not require to hire and train drivers to drive those particular equipment type. Moreover it can be convinient for families to travel long distances. For example, one may travel from Ottawa to Calgary without worrying about the dedication or situational awareness that is required while driving an ordinary car. Moreover the manufacturers of these driverless vehicles claims that these means of tranpsort are safe to drive or operate regardless of the terrain or environment. On the other hand there is a chance that the software of these vehicle may develop a temporary glitch which can cause the system to fail or the vehicle to malfunction entirely. There was a report published by Reuters, that stated autonomous vehicles are equipped with multiple sensors which needs to be monitored to ensure driving or operations. A Tesla, Model S, was involved in an accident last year due to failure of sensor to identify the dividing lane. The car went into the wrong lane in order to make a left turn and the vehicle eventually got hit by the oncoming car. Last but not the least, the purchase price of these autonomous vehicles are not generous and is far away from general public's purchasing power. To conclude, driverless vehicle is a great acheivement in terms of scintific development however these vehicles have their own systematic challeneges, higher price tag and safety risk which makes it an unlikely choice of buyers to consider these type vehicles.