Tourism is one of thw fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and the environment is often ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that the most considerable growing industry is tourism making a contribution to the global economy while some individuals argue that it is adversely impacting on culture and environment of the local areas which are often ignored. Although people concerned about about the raised issues, I still hold the view that developing tourism brings more benefits towards economic growth, mostly solving the aforementioned problems through this development. On the one hand, there is a wave of protests arguing that touristry can have negative impacts on some typical aspects like losing local cultures. This is because the indigenous people have to adapt to new developments in their hometowns, which may force them to lose their traditions for serving the tourists. For example, those local residents have to diminish the old communicating ways, using their mother language to speak with visitors, which may enhance their economy, however, with a vast amount of people doing so, including children, the people there may lose their own language for such long periods. Nevertheless, this can be solved by improving the education system, and keeping the mother language by opening classes to younger generations. On the other hand, people are nowadays forget the environmental values. Specifically, tourism has led humans to a thirst for wealth, which means local people have a tendency to damage the ecosystems for tourism growth, which can benefit them a lot. As a result, there may be several habitat loss, causing the lack of species, resulting in unbalance between humans and nature. Although this is true to a certain extent, such great economic growth can contribute to this by combining preventing methods like forbidding hunting or building up or extending the remaining habitat. This leads to a new balance, which is more beneficial to both the commercial market as well as environmental protection. In conclusion, tourism may cause several issues to the local culture or environmental problems, but taking appropriate actions can deal with these problems, boosting the general economy. Additionally, such sustainable tourism is an ideal solution for development.