It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

It can be witnessed that there are multiple countries that have an extremely low number of students choosing to follow the field of science. This essay will mention the reasons for this phenomenon and its implications on society in general. There are some rationales that contribute to this negative trend. It is undeniable that science and technology are the cornerstones in all aspects of human beings, including education and healthcare. Due to its sophisticated theory and crucial role in the development of human civilization, this realm of studying and investigating requires students not only to own a wide range of knowledge but also to invest a considerable amount of time, money, and effort. Additionally, the common gender stereotype related to STEM - science, technology, engineering, mathematics - is one of the causes. In general, there is a common belief that men inherit an innate talent regarding the science field and it is just a men-orientated sector that women cannot be able to enroll in. Thus, attributed to misperceptions and lack of support from families, women tend not to follow these paths, lowering the total number of science students. Inevitably, this trend goes with some negative results. The fewer pupils registering for this major in university, the fewer essential employees for this field. Therefore, the rate of scientific research and inventions would witness a significant drop, leading to the fact that the development of fundamental realms including education, healthcare, economics, and politics will be severely influenced. Furthermore, this phenomenon also enhances the unemployment proportion by laying off a huge number of teachers and professionals working in these subjects. This action would unsuccessfully take advantage of high-quality workers, making them become a burden of the society. In conclusion, most pupils no longer pursue the science -associated paths due to the huge requirements of the fields and the widespread norm, leading to several consequences regarding the fundamental needs of humans.