Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an ongoing interest in the impact of two diverse fields of study. Many people argue that History is one of the most important disciplines to study while others believe that science and technology are the best in recent society. I support the latter, and will analyze both sides of the consideration and delineate my opinion in this essay, supported by relevant examples. To begin, one reason why some might think that studying history is the best is because it facilitates the understanding of society. To buttress this, history is the study of the past of humanity. This course will help students understand human behaviour and acts, how civilization evolved and how societal structures developed. Science and technology are rather innovation-oriented, and might not provide the depth of understanding of society as history. For instance, the study of the French Revolution (1789) offers insight into the political oppressions, economic inequality and social unrest that sparked significant changes. History gives the full picture of the events leading to such modern change and social mobility. Although history helps us understand past societies, I believe it is imperative to study science and technology as they foster practical impact on the present society. That is, science and technology directly improve the quality of life and address contemporary challenges. These subjects enable youths to focus on how to proffer solutions to current problems in the world, ranging from medical advancements to environmental sustainability. In medicine, vaccines have saved millions of lives across the globe. For example, the COVID-19 vaccine was a breakthrough that prevented further deaths and restored societies. This vaccine was created from advanced mRNA technology and was only possible due to the amalgamation of science (biology and chemistry) and technology. This demonstrates how science and technology improve the well-being of the global population. In conclusion, with the rise in the need to choose the best fields in universities, some people opine that the most essential subject to study is history while others believe science and technology are the most important. Even though history promotes a deep understanding of society, I support the notion that it is crucial to study science and technology since they encourage a positive practical impact on the world population.