Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Due to the fast-paced lifestyle, nowadays, there is a great tendency among people to consume fast food and manufactured drinks containing sugar, fat, and carbohydrates. That is why, there are arguments about increasing the cost of these products, especially the ones with high level of sugar, to persuade people to eat more healthy food. On the one hand, processed food and drink have become more common among individuals, particularly young generations, which leads to crucial health problems. For instance, researchers have found that 20 per cent of depression in the society is caused by consuming sugary products more than the usual consumption. Besides, due to the low price of sweet food and drink which are sold in restuarants and shops, they have become people ’s first choice when it comes to eat. Therefore, as an efficient way to decrease the usage of sugary meals, companies have to produce and launch these products more expensive. On the other hand, as long as people do not understand about the disadvantages of consuming sweet meals more than usual, rising these products’ prices will not bring any benefits. In this case, emphasising on the importance of educating citizens to become aware of the effects of these foods on their health and how to maintain their physical and mental health, will be more effective. In conclusion, in my opinion, although increasing the amount of money which people have to pay to eat manufactured food and drink can have some advantages, it will not influence iindividuals until they become knowledgeable about the impacts of sugary meals on their health.