Some people think that it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems such as railway and trams. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the fast pace of life,most of the families are dual-incom who needs better infrastructure to commute daily.So many individuals believe that it is important to have more finances to improve infrastructure such as build more roads and motorways, instead of spending money on public transport.I totally disagree with this point of view and the following paragraphs will discuss it. Firstly,in this present era people prefer to live in big cities that leads to congestion in these areas. Moreover everyone has to use transport to reach their work place,but only few of them are able to afford their own vehicles. For example,in India almost 80 percent of their population used public transport to travel daily. Secondly,if more individuals use their private cars,there will be huge carbon emission, as a result country will face worst air polloution.To overcome these issues government need to promote trains and tram system,so more people can travel at the same time with less fuel consumption as well as ecofriendly transport. On the other hand,building new roads and motorways means the better infrastructure of a state,and it indicates the stronge stronger economy of a nation. Such as by providing better ways to travel by road, this attracts more tourists that in return promote economy of the country. Moreover people can travel fastly from one city to another that inhance cultural norms between different areas and create more oppertunities for employment,but it can lead to congestion,excessive environmental pollution and more fuel consumption. For instance, roads structure of a city lahore in Pakistan has been improved from last decad,more persons are able to travel at the same time, that is a good development but as a result that city has became the world's most polluted city. To conclude, although the roads and motorways are important for economy,public transport is the basic facility that very citizen need to travel. However improving railway system that completely run on steam is enviormentally friendly.So working on motorway has more drawback.