Some people say that what individuals do to protect cannot make a difference, others say that individuals can protect the environment. Discuss both views, give your opinion.

A controversial discussion point is whether individuals’ actions have a profound impact on the protection of the environment or not. This writer contends that the solidarity among people could create a difference due to their power to alter the current market. It is vital to acknowledge that consumers’ behavior would affect the market trend the most. By way of explanation, if people signaled for the reduction of meat consumption on a large scale, it would fuel a dramatic decrease in the amount of livestock farming. Consequently, greenhouse gasses emission would be limited, contributing to better air quality. Moreover, the alteration of individuals’ attitude would emerge as an urgent signal for governments and corporations to take actions and imply potential policy, which may change the market accordingly and be beneficial to the environment. For example, in the developed and developing countries, there is a growing trend of using sustainable, eco-friendly products, as a result of taking consumers’ preference from synonymous businesses, such as Unilever. In another perspective, there are opposing views that highlight the need of protecting the environment on a more extensive scale. From this point, they believe that environmental degradation would require more efforts and systematic solutions to solve. This urgent problem could ultimately be dwarfed by the positive impact of policies from local authorities and businesses, such as implying punishments and fine people and industries heavily if they are caught doing such harmful things to cause pollution. In the writer’s personal viewpoint, I, however, consider that every small step should be counted. If these actions multiplied through millions of people, they would be a huge inspiration to other residents, even large nations, and become a thing that everyone would want to learn and imitate. In brief, although some argue that the protection of the environment should be done on a larger scale, the writer thinks that individuals could make a big difference in this.