Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is prevalent these days that people with health concerns choose alternative medicine and treatment over conventional medicine. I believe turning to non-conventional medicine is a negative development, as it has limited standardization of training and makes it less useful in emergencies. Firstly, alternative medicine is not being practiced by professional and highly qualified doctors, nurses, or healthcare workers. This could lead to potential misdiagnosis and treatment, therefore putting people's lives at risk. For instance, some practitioners who perform: acupuncture do not have the required education and certification, which means they might not know how to do it safely and effectively. In addition, complementary medicine lacks standard treatment protocols and research to prove its scientific background; hence, its efficacy and safety are to be questioned. Secondly, alternative medicine is often less likely to be used in emergency situations. The remedies used at this practice need a prolonged time to work while the conventional medicine works instantly to bring effects faster. For example, consider a patient with failing heart and disturbed heart rhythm delays the cardiac intervention in hope of orthodox medicine would work, might end up life due to exacerbation of the situation. However, the non-mainstream medicine can sometimes be useful as the practitioners prescribe healthy diet, exercise and yoga that possibly might help a person for long healthy life. The herbal drugs have lesser side effects than the chemical drugs used at the western medicine practice. In conclusion, it seems me that the progressive use of non-conventional medicine should be viewed as a detrimental development due to the lack of standard regulation and its ineffectiveness in emergency situations.