In some countries, owning a home is more important rather than renting one. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

It is a belived by people in some countries that it is more essential to have a house of your own than to live in a rented house,owing to their cultural belief. However, it could pose challenges to the young generation as buying a property nowadays is increasing in difficulties due to the rise in population, and it will also affect the environment negatively. In the eyes of some, owning a house means settling down and having a successful life. It has rooted down to the cultures as a condition for marriage, especially for men. Many people from Asian countries, for example, working hard and saving for their entire lives to own a house, in order to get married. In fact, there is a survey in China revealing that 30 percent of the population could not find a partner as they do not have a house under their names. Furthermore, many people deem having a property asset as a mean of financial safety, as prices of those building will be expected to keep increasing. This mindset, on the other hand, puts the young generation under great pressure, as there are limited land resources while the number of demands keeps increasing. For instance, in metropolis such as Beijing or Hong Kong, property prices have been doubled since the last decade, making it imposssible for young individual to find affordable options. Moreover, the demands of having a house also exhaust the environment by reducing the available lands further, which means more woodlands will be cleared and replaced by new residential units. Indeed, big cities like New York or Ho Chi Minh city witness the significant decline in green spaces in replace of new houses, raising an alarm and posing threats of worsen air pollution and climate change. In conclusion, various cultures deem having a house as mandatory for marriage, and it also means financial stable. Yet, the pressure of owing housing units stresses on the environment and pushes the cost of property insanely high for young people to afford.