It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Living in a society, our identification are usually strongly influenced by others ' opinion and reaction. While it is true that we often define ourselves by others ' perspectives, it is also crucial to avoid the social tags from confining us and our possibilities. On one hand, we understand ourselves by interacting with people in the same group, through the feedbacks given by others, and combine with self-reflections, we forms our identities. For instance, one who is borned in suburb areas and later entering ivy league schools, and being surrounded by the elites can result in huge changes in terms of self-identity and self-esteem. Studying in highly educated environment with abundant resources, also recieving complementary pleasants can elevate one's perspectives and having positive self-picture, yet the fierce competitions can be overwhelming and cause low self-esteem and depression. On the other hand, It is worth noticing of being cautious about the invisible social tags. It is reasonable to take others opinions as an reference and reflection about oursleves, yet be aware of these social values that can turn around and confine us from pursuing self achievements. For example, the famous film director Lee An, who remained unknown between the first ten years of his career. Before his talents are being seen, people regarded him as a jobless and unresponsible husband who depends on his wife for living. He was aware of the rumors, yet he continued to pursue his dream, while striving to keep balance between family and career. It takes more than patience and strong mentality to distinguish oneself from these subjective opinions, and this is exactly the reason of his success. To sum up, people form self-portray by interacting with others in the society. It is clear that we are hugely impacted by others value, perspectives, and opinions towards us. However, It is necessary to draw the line from possible negative impacts. Social opinions can form boundaries and restaints restaurants that limit our opportunities of pursuring personal achievement. It is our own responsibility to distinguish the differences.