Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. In this essay, I will explain the reasons why I firmly disagree with this remedy, as there are superior alternative solutions: congestion pricing and car-sharing and carpooling programs. To begin, increasing petrol prices can lead to a reduction in traffic volume to some extent. In other words, this creates adequate pressure on money-conscious individuals and has a serious impact on the daily earnings of low-income individuals. Hence, this partially contributes to reducing congestion during rush hours because citizens swiftly switch from motorbikes to public transport to deal with the exorbitant gasoline prices. Although this solution has limited the number of daily commuters, it does not proportionately reduce the carbon footprint, as motorbikes are only responsible for a small proportion of emissions. The amount of carbon dioxide released by the wealthy, who commute by private car and aeroplane, is larger than that emitted by the poor's motorbikes. For example, a large quantity of carbon dioxide is released from aeroplanes in the lucrative aviation market, space exploration projects, and military vehicles. Therefore, raising gasoline prices is not the best solution for this issue and cannot lead to significant changes without complementary measures. These conundrums require a comprehensive approach. Nevertheless, a more effective measure is the commitment of the government to achieve neutral carbon emissions by 2050, as stated in an international summit on climate change. This commitment promotes government policies to enforce stricter solutions, such as financial charges for gasoline cars during peak hours, and executing car-sharing and carpooling programs. Additionally, there should be a standardized effort in manufacturing affordable electric cars. For instance, Hanoi, which applied congestion pricing, has improved its atmospheric standards in the inner city by encouraging more people to use buses. By improving the quality of public transportation services, including better quality, coverage on convenient routes, and increased frequency, citizens switch to zero-emission public transport. To conclude, while the notion of increasing petrol prices offers a potential remedy for burgeoning traffic and pollution issues, I think this is not the best solution for this problem. Instead, governments should focus on wider-reaching policies, including the promotion of electric vehicles and the implementation of car-sharing initiatives. In adopting these comprehensive measures, we can genuinely address the challenges posed by traffic and pollution in an effective and equitable manner.