In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some societies, there is a belief that they told children that they can reach to anything in the future if they try as hard as they can for their goals. Creating hope and a reason for hard effort is the merits if this idea. However, by not achieving the goals, they may become dissapointed and hopeless as its demerits. On the one hand, not only growing up with this mentality can give children a great reason and hope, but also they want to go beyond their limits for reaching their targets. Most of the times, this is true and people who have this opinion reach to a place that they want. Although this message is a great one for the children, in real world sometimes things do not go the way that you want regardless of your hard efforts. As a consequence, this can work upside down and it can have a negative effects on people. Turning to disadvantages, setting far-fetching goals and not reaching to them dispite trying hard can have negative effects on our mind. This gives you a feeling that yor are not perfect enough and you will experience a huge failure as a result. Dealing with this bad feeling may need a great time for the victims with this mentality which they can achieve anything they want by just trying really hard. To sum up, trying hard is a great way for making yourself close enough to your dreams and goals but unfortunately, it is not enough and other factors play a significant role, so people should consider them too before identifying their purposes.