Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Which opinion do you agree with? Discuss both options and give examples

In recent times, there has been a significant rise in the number of people rearing pets. While some claim that it is hazardous and not healthy to keep them, others argue that keeping pets has potential benefits for kids. This essay will delve into both perspectives impartially,without favouring one side over the other. On one hand, those who advocate for keeping pets claim that pets offer companionship and friendship to children and a family as a whole, they argue that these domesticated animals can engage in physical activities with the youngsters such as playing asports and taking walks with them, thereby, combating the desire to always opt for screen-based entertainment which can lead to the adoption of a sedentary lifestyle. A sedentary lifestyle has been linked to health and mental complication such as obesity, sleep disturbance and lack of social skills. Moreover, pets can be trained to protect kids against danger. This is an essential skill as it plays an intrustmental role in alleviating stress levels among caregivers in the event that they face a dangerous situation. Conversely, proponents against rearing pets claim that pets carry diseases and infectious that are contagious, This can pose a health hazard to minors whose immune system is still developing and cannot combat infection effectively. Additionally, some pets such as dogs and cats can harbour parasites such as ticks which can bite these children leading to allergic reactions or serious illness. To address this issue,it is indispensable that pet owners oblige routine veterinary visits and immunisation. In conclusion, both arguments are valuable and the debate is complex. I firmly believe that there is a need to strike a balance. It is undeniable that pets offer a sense of security and companionship, however, the drawbacks of disease transmission cannot be understated. Ultimately, the decision to keep pets solely depends on an individual's preference and