Children facing academic, social and commercial pressures. Causes and solutions.

Children have overbearing burden in their academics, social life as well as in commercial settings. Globalisation and increased parents expectations contribute immensely to this pressure while a well established parent-child relationship and a decreased expectation from a child can ameliorate the problem extensively. In this essay, I will elucidate on these multifarious contributing factors and proposed solutions. One reason can be attributed to the tremendously advancing technology. The huge planet earth of decades ago has become a small global village which is well linked up. This emergence increases the range of competition in the sphere of knowledge acquisition, interaction and public exchange. For instance, a student is no longer in competition with a regular schoolmate or a next door neighbour, but rather has to invest more time and energy against other rivalries within the now small global village. Additionally, parents contribute immensely to this problem due to their increased expectations from their kids, especially their quest for outstanding academic performance from the children, coupled with other extracurricular merits. These consequently emanate an overwhelming feeling of pressure on these teenagers. On the other hand, parents can contribute to the mitigation of the burden by having a well established rapport with their children. An example is spending more quality time with family, while having extensive discussion of daily life challenges with the kids. At the same time, parents and guardians should subdue their unrealistic expectations of the children in this tedious small globe. Subsequently they would be reassured and relieved of the enormous worries of life. In conclusion, teenagers have more shouldering problems due to world developments and parents ’ surging expectations. Parents can help reduce this pressure by creating a good relationship with their children.