Some people say that the only reason for learning a foriegn language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country.Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foriegn language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

One may argue that the only motivation for learning a foreign language is solely for work purpose. On the contrary, some people argue that there are many other reasons for someone to learn a foreign language. I am personally leaning towards the later statement and I will explain it in the next following paragraphs. Learning a foreign language for improving career is a pragmatic and valid reason. I could understand why people have this reason as their motivation, because obviously it will give them more values and create opportunities for them to work in another countries. However, this kind of motivation will not last and disencourage them in their learning process. For example, a student is so eager to learn French because his or her teachers said that there are many job opportunities that they could get in French. Let's say that in the next year there is a huge inflation in French that cause a massive unemployment in that country. Because of the situation, that student wil no longer care to continue learn French language since his motivation is money and French can no longer fuel that motivation. In contrast, if someone learn a new language based on curiosity and passion for knowledge, it will last longer and make the more consistent in their study. Someone that has this kind of reason usually is more determine and diligent because their motivation can not be shaken by money. In addition, these type of people mostly also interested in that country's culture and people which furthermore wil encourage them to learn more besides the new language. In conclusion, learning a foreign language for work purpose is a valid reason. However, this is not the best motivation to have because it tends to last shortly. On the contrary, if someone learn a new language because of the passion for knowledge, it will give them encouragement to study more.