Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development.

It is true that some children waste their times per day with their smartphones. I believe that it has been a debating subject for years because of the terms of technology. As a result, this dependency has become a crucial problem in young people’s daily life. First reasons of this, smartphones present numerous entertainment benefit for children. It is obvious that, the world changed rapidly after the invention of the telephone. As a consequence these, for children who were born in this century, smartphones almost their part of bodies. Second reason of this, companies which are in technological area, try to ensure that they created vehicles for attract individuals’ attention especially young ones. For instance, Steve Jobs who is founder of Apple, admitted to the media that the reason why the interfaces of the phones they produce are colourful and the infrastructure is according to children's games is to attract the attention of children. On the other hand, the fact that smartphones are really popular device and has numerous bad impacts on children. Firstly, children who live dependent on phones are closed to communication and irritable compared to people of other generations. According to the latest crime statistics, children who play on the phone all the time are more likely to get involved in crime because their emotional intelligence is not developed. Secondly, this addiction also affects their intellectual development in a seriously bad way. In a recent experiment conducted on children about telephones, it was proved that children who had never met the phone had more improved motor skills and were more creative. In conclusion, as a result of the current century, mobile phones have become a very important part of children's lives and therefore have undoubtely negative effects on children.