Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed , rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self- employed?

In this contemporary era, many individuals are opting to become entrepreneurs rather than working under a company. From my perspective, flexibility and freedom are the most prominent reasons for being self-employed. Whereas the workload and trade risks are the two major drawbacks of the same. To begin with, the flexible schedule tends people to choose to be self-employed as they are not time-bounded, and individuals do not have to spend eight hours per day working at a workplace when they start their own businesses. They can accumulate and make their own working hours to run their businesses successfully. Secondly, following passions and interests is one of the other reasons why people select a self-work trajectory. It can be said that if a person is excellent in his field of Interest, it could be game, planning, teaching and so on, then he or she is more likely to become a successful business person. For example, the New York Times has shown that 75% of successful businessmen are those who are not satisfied with their previous jobs, refused to work for other firms, and started their own startups. When it comes to the disadvantages of being a sole worker, the most prominent one is working pressure. Needless to say running a business on their own might be challenging because there is an excessive workload involved in businesses as compared to jobs where stress is slightly low and differs. To cite an example, a global business study has shown that 60% of businesses fail in the initial stage due to poor performance of business owners in tackling stress and workload. Apart from this, certain types of risks like stock fluctuations, inflation and market domination cause business loss. It may take several years to learn strategies to deal with these risks. Thus, Working for other organizations may prudent approach as employees are free from these sorts of business problems. In conclusion, the fact is that self-employment provides full-time flexibility and freedom to choose own working ways, however, there are also significant challenges that need to be considered. Hence, it is essential for individuals to scrutinize business fundamentals before deciding to become an entrepreneur.